Quick Links




Professor Raphael Grzebieta

Chair of Road Safety

Raphael Grzebieta currently holds the Chair of Road Safety at the NSW Injury Risk Management Research Centre. He was the President of the Australasian College of Road Safety for over four years and continues as Chairman of the Sydney Chapter. He has over 27 years of research and practical experience in crashworthiness and road safety. Raphael has published over 180 papers and supervised numerous PhD and Masters students in the areas of structural crashworthiness, impact and blast loading. Research teams he has led and been involved with have carried out numerous crash tests, computer modelling and theoretical studies investigating and mitigating injuries in a variety of vehicle road crash related scenarios. Raphael has also carried out numerous crash reconstruction analyses. He is a member of a number of road safety, editorial, journal and standards committees. He has also chaired a number of international conferences and given numerous invited public lectures and keynote papers. His international network ni vehicle and roadside crashworthiness is extensive. Raphael is regularly interviewed by radio and TV media and has appeared in science programs (twice on ABC's Catalyst Science Program) in relation to road safety and crash testing. In 2004, Raphael was awarded the 2003 Warren Medal by the Institution of Engineers Australia, as co-author of the papers "Crashworthiness Systems - A Paradigm Shift in Road Safety Design", Parts I & II. He was also awarded Fellow of the Australasian College of Road Safety in recognition of his international service to road safety. His Fellowship was presented by the past Governor General of Australia Major (Ret) Jeffrey and Dr. Job of the NSW Centre for Road Safety at the NSW Road Traffic Authority.

Phone: 02 9385 4479

Email: r.grzebieta@unsw.edu.au



Authorised by: IRMRC | UNSW Sydney NSW 2052 Australia | irmrc@unsw.edu.au
CRICOS CODE: 00098G | Disclaimer | ©UNSW | ph: +61 2 9385 4207

UNSW Science